iNACOL Standards Self-Assessment

iNACOL Standards for EDUU 625:

Standard E: The online teacher models, guides, and encourages legal, ethical, and safe behavior related to technology use.

My Score: 2 (Yes, I do this.) I have delivered Common Sense Media Nearpod lessons on digital citizenship, and try to model ethical online behavior at all times when teaching.

Standard F: The online teacher is cognizant of the diversity of student academic needs and incorporates accommodations into the online environment.

My Score: 1 (I do this infrequently.) Although I care very much about accommodating student needs in my teaching, I must admit that I have tended to approach accommodations from a reactive, rather than a proactive, stance.

Standard G: The online teacher demonstrates competencies in creating and implementing assessments in online learning environments in ways that ensure validity and reliability of the instruments and procedures.

My Score: 2 (Yes, I do this.) Both on my own and in collaboration with other teachers in a Professional Learning Community, I feel that designing valid and reliable electronic assessments is a strength for me.

Standard H: The online teacher develops and delivers assessments, projects, and assignments that meet standards-based learning goals and assesses learning progress by measuring student achievement of the learning goals.

My Score: 1 (I kind of get this and might do it.) If you had asked me this question three or four years ago, I would have given myself a 2; however, it has been difficult to adjust assessment practices to accurately measure the new Common Core standards, particularly the higher-order thinking skills.

Standard I: The online teacher demonstrates competency in using data from assessments and other data sources to modify content and to guide student learning.

My Score: 1 (I do this infrequently.) Although I think my PLC partners and I are very effective at meaningful collaboration and genuine reflection on our practice, time is a serious limiting factor that prevents me from meeting this standard as often as I would like.

Reference

International Association for K-12 Online Learning. (2011). National standards for quality online teaching. Retrieved from http://www.inacol.org/resource/inacol-national-standards-for-quality-online-teaching-v2/

Leave a Reply

